HOME | CATALOG | DOWNLOADS | LINKS | EDITORIALS | DISCUSSION | CONTACT

Two spaces after every sentence?

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Log Out | Edit Profile | Register
Night Shade Message Boards » General » Two spaces after every sentence? « Previous Next »

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  Start New Thread        

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jay Morgan
Posted on Monday, July 30, 2007 - 04:29 pm:   

Hi all,
I'm new to submitting stories, and was not sure if two spaces after every sentence is still necessary. I've been told it is by a few people, but most magazines don't mention it in their guidelines. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,
BF

Byron Bailey
Posted on Monday, July 30, 2007 - 06:43 pm:   

The position held by the Society for the Advancement of Byron Bailey at the Expense of Everyone Else is that any spaces between sentences is entirely unneccesary and takes up unreasonable amounts of, well, space. Likewise, punctuation at the end of a sentence is entirely unnecessary, too.

Jay Morgan
Posted on Tuesday, July 31, 2007 - 09:06 am:   

Thanks. That was helpful....I guess.....

Charles Coleman Finlay
Posted on Wednesday, August 01, 2007 - 06:33 am:   

Jay,

If the editor is noticing the number of spaces after your periods instead of the story contained in the sentences, then you're doing something wrong. Look, no one is going to buy or reject your MS based on the number of spaces after your periods.

Not that it's a dumb question. I've asked it myself -- not that that proves it isn't dumb -- at a couple of places where I sell regularly. The answer has always been, "Look, we're not going to buy or reject your MS based on the number of spaces after your periods."