HOME | CATALOG | DOWNLOADS | LINKS | EDITORIALS | DISCUSSION | CONTACT

A Million Visionary Thoughts Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Log Out | Edit Profile | Register
Night Shade Message Boards » General » A Million Visionary Thoughts « Previous Next »

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  Start New Thread        

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Andre West
Posted on Sunday, June 04, 2006 - 09:56 am:   

How My Childhood Vision Started Dream Quest One

I remember my Head Start schooling like the back of my hand. I am left-handed so I guess I meant, that particular hand. The year was 1975, when I graduated from preschool with a cap and gown, tassels and a Master of Rhymes diploma. On that warmer summer day in July, I had a wonderfully wide, bright-eyed, one million watt smile on my face. I was five years old back then. Like the poem written by John Tobias, “Reflections on a Gift of Watermelon Pickle Received from a Friend Called Felicity”, “it was during that summer when unicorns were still possible; When the purpose of knees was to be skinned.” A time when my friends, my brother and I caught lightning bugs (fireflies), ants, grasshoppers, ladybugs and that occasional wasp or bumblebee we would put into jars to be amazed by the natural beauty of it all. I lived with my family in Chicago, Illinois’ West Side, in a low-income, poverty stricken multiplex building. Located in a group of row houses called the ABLA Homes, also known as “The Village”. I still had some of the best days of my life growing up in the “Projects”. I didn’t even know we were real poor first at list the first 7 years of my life. Being born in to poverty, does it really make a difference to a child growing up within a loving and caring family? I don’t think so.