F&SF on European Newsstands? Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

HOME | CATALOG | DOWNLOADS | LINKS | EDITORIALS | DISCUSSION | CONTACT

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Log Out | Edit Profile | Register
Night Shade Message Boards » Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction » F&SF on European Newsstands? « Previous Next »

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  Start New Thread        

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Yoshinori Todo
Posted on Sunday, February 18, 2007 - 12:23 pm:   

Hi everybody, I'm new to this message board.

I used to submit my -- admittedly juvenile -- short stories to this magazine until a few years back, and I always appreciated GVG's incredibly fast response time and the fact that the rejections were always personalized and somewhat detailed. I was, like, 16 when I first started submitting, and to a young writer that little personal touch was mighty encouraging (and, in some ways, awe-inspiring). So thanks a lot. I'm 25 now and thinking of starting to submit to F&SF again . . . my writing has much improved, so watch out! :-)

My questions now is: I live in Austria, and I remember F&SF used to be available on newsstands here until 6 or 7 years ago. However, they're not anymore. Does anyone know why that is? I'm thinking not enough copies were sold, but is there any chance you could persuade the distributors -- or whatever people are responsible -- to put them on Austrian/German newsstands again? That'd be great! I _would_ get a subscription, but I think for European residents that comes even more expensive than buying each issue at the local kiosk! Thanks in advance for the help.

P.S. What a _great_ MB! I spent the past few days going through various threads, and I'm starting to think half the editors of SF, F, or H magazines are assembled here. It's a little like being at a convention, isn't it? LOL.