Imagining the Worst Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Program Credits Administration
Night Shade Message Boards » Tem, Steve Rasnic » Imagining the Worst « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Steve Rasnic Tem
Posted on Wednesday, February 26, 2003 - 11:18 pm:   

Well, better late than never . . .

IMAGINING THE WORST 02/26/03

So I've just come out of the Barnes & Noble in downtown Seattle and I'm walking up the street toward my hotel. I'm here for WinWriters, a technical writers' conference, and it's my first time outdoors since I've been here.

Two guys are walking behind me, a little too close for comfort. I've never been mugged, but of course I consider the possibility at all times. They're muttering back and forth in this constant flow that gets a little more excited from time to time, punctuated with oh wows and no shits but nothing more comprehensible than that and I'm thinking about dueling schizophrenics (a spectator sport where I grew up).

"Oh, there's a good one," I hear one of them say. "Oh, yeah!" is the reply. "One of those shoulder rockets launched from right here, it could take out at least a floor."

Then I look up and understand they're talking about my hotel. And I'm not too shocked about what they just said because I'd been thinking much along those same lines a couple of hours earlier. We've all been warned, afterall: hotels, malls, large sporting events. The terrorists are on their way, coming to your hometown someday soon.

It's not considered too healthy to be dwelling on worst case scenarios--people think there's something wrong with you if you do--you're troubled, and projecting your own interior darknesses onto the world. But horror writers, isn't it our job to imagine the worst?