Question about your comments on Fowle... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

HOME | CATALOG | DOWNLOADS | LINKS | EDITORIALS | DISCUSSION | CONTACT

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Log Out | Edit Profile | Register
Night Shade Message Boards » Hand, Elizabeth » Question about your comments on Fowles' Sarah Woodruff « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Debbie McLeod
Posted on Sunday, November 28, 2004 - 07:07 am:   

Hi Ms. Hand,
I'm a graduate student in English Lit and am currently working on a project on The French Lieutenant's Woman. I noticed you associated Sarah Woodruff's name with the herb sweet woodruff, but I can't find any other reference to that. Is that an association you made or did you read it somewhere? I'll be happy to cite you as a source for my report.
Thanks much,
Debbie McLeod

liz hand
Posted on Monday, November 29, 2004 - 06:37 am:   

Hi Debbie,

I honestly don't know if anyone else has made the association between Sarah Woodruff & sweet woodruff, or if I read it somewhere -- I made the connection because I grow sweet woodruff and have used it in making May wine. The herb has a faint sweet scent, but it's only after it's been dried that it really releases its fragrance, and it's the dried herb that's used in May wine. It's a woodland, shade-loving herb that's native to England (and Europe), and knowing Fowles' knowledge of woodland plants and animals, it seems likely that the choice of names was deliberate