Surrealists/Decadents Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

HOME | CATALOG | DOWNLOADS | LINKS | EDITORIALS | DISCUSSION | CONTACT

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Log Out | Edit Profile | Register
Night Shade Message Boards » Calder, Richard » Surrealists/Decadents « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Steve Taylor
Posted on Tuesday, February 04, 2003 - 07:52 pm:   

Richard:

As a surreal/decadent writer, I wonder if you could tell us what authors you've been reading recently--who really seems to be taking up the legacy of those writers?

Richard Calder
Posted on Thursday, February 06, 2003 - 03:43 am:   

Steve --

In a word, I'm not at all sure. But they would have to be authors who not only employ the decor and (by now) rather shop-worn furniture of Symbolism, the Decadence, and Surrealism, to new effect, but take on board genuinely transgressive ideas and themes. I greatly liked Michel Houellebecq's 'Platform' (far, far more than his two previous novels, 'Atomised' and 'Whatever'). He takes a perverse, cynical, disgusted-with-life stance on just about every issue you can think of. He's sometimes compared to Céline, but though he shares Céline's disgust, he lacks Céline's black humour (and he simply doesn't write as well; 'Platform' has its longueurs), but I admire his penchant for going *against the grain* (in Huysmans something of a pose, but with Houellebecq, real -- often heart-breakingly so) and for saying things so utterly non-pc. There're doubtless many other contemporary authors -- and doubtless some are working within sf/fantasy/horror -- who may be described as 'Decadent' but who also go against the grain and have outlaw sensibilities. I'd welcome any recommendations.