Questions? Especially for new writer... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Program Credits Administration
Night Shade Message Boards » Goss, Theodora » Questions? Especially for new writers . . . « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Theodora Goss
Posted on Wednesday, August 11, 2004 - 09:47 pm:   

I thought I would begin a topic for anyone who wanted to ask me questions, especially about writing and publishing. Not, of course, that I'm at all an expert. But I'm a relatively new writer, so in the last few years I've gone through what all new writers go through (workshops, rejections, first sales, and all the rest). And I've made every mistake known to man or woman. (In my first submission to Weird Tales, I misspelled the name of the magazine. As in Wierd Tales, not thank goodness Weird Tails, which would have been worse. The editors were exceedingly kind.)

Also, sometimes I receive a question that I can't answer, but someone else reading this board might be able to. For example, someone wrote to me just recently, asking me how to locate an agent who accepts unpublished writers. I have no idea. My rudimentary response is,

1. Find out which authors write the sort of thing you write.
2. Find out who their agents are. (Someone once explained how to do this, in a workshop I think, but I can't remember off the top of my head.)
3. Query to see if those agents accept manuscripts from new writers.

Not much of a response. But there must be a better answer out there, somewhere?

Melissa Mead
Posted on Thursday, August 12, 2004 - 03:32 am:   

Does the SFWA site keep a list? I haven't checked, but it sounds like the sort of thing they'd do.

Christopher Barzak
Posted on Thursday, August 12, 2004 - 10:42 am: