An editor's lament Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

HOME | CATALOG | DOWNLOADS | LINKS | EDITORIALS | DISCUSSION | CONTACT

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Log Out | Edit Profile | Register
Night Shade Message Boards » Datlow, Ellen » An editor's lament « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ellen Datlow
Posted on Wednesday, March 22, 2006 - 02:44 pm:   

For some reason, about 85% of the submissions I'm getting for projects I'm on working on are first person. I have no innate problem with first person. In fact, I like first person stories. But there needs to be variety --not just in tone, content, theme, background, and character but in point of view. Arghhh.

Anyone have ideas about why this is happening? Not being a writer I have no idea if first person is easier to write than third...

Sam S.
Posted on Wednesday, March 22, 2006 - 05:01 pm:   

Having worked in publishing, and being given the opportunities to be an editor for this long, you should know if writing in first person is easier or not. But since you seem so sincerely in the dark, I will tell you from this writer's viewpoint: Neither is easier or easy. Writing is extremely difficult no matter what point of view is taken. Whichever one best tells the story is, hopefully, the professional writer's first choice, however. I hope this answers your question, Ellen.

MarcL
Posted on Wednesday, March 22, 2006 - 06:10 pm:   

Maybe you should create a first person theme anthology.

Ellen Datlow
Posted on Wednesday, March 22, 2006 - 07:01 pm:   

Sam, since, as previously mentioned I'm not a writer and never have been, I wouldn't and don't know. This was not a rhetorical question.