MFA Barbie Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

HOME | CATALOG | DOWNLOADS | LINKS | EDITORIALS | DISCUSSION | CONTACT

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Log Out | Edit Profile | Register
Night Shade Message Boards » What, Leslie » MFA Barbie « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

LeslieWhat
Posted on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 09:36 am:   

MFA Barbie says, "Writing is Hard."

I just need to sign on the dotted line and I'll be off to start an MFA program at Pacific University. I'm trying not to go just so I can say I graduated from P.U.

steve redwood
Posted on Monday, April 12, 2004 - 07:21 am:   

I make my periodic check up on you, and what do I find??!!

"A major problem for young writers, these days, Margaret Atwood says, is that they have all their interestingness ironed out by writing courses." (Guardian newspaper, today)

I do so hope that you mean you will be teaching THEM!

Repent now! Send me the money instead!

I spotted that you have a book of short stories out somewhere, but I can't remember where. Remind us. And available in England?

LeslieWhat
Posted on Monday, April 12, 2004 - 08:42 am:   

Steve, I don't see why it isn't available in England. It's "The Sweet and Sour Tongue". I really want to publish another collection. Reading Cory Doctorow's article about e-publishing makes me think I should put up a free PDF file instead of waiting for someone to put out a collection.

I am not a young writer (although I'm younger than say, Saul Bellow:-) and I don't iron anything, especially if it's interesting -- unless it's an iron-on decal -- so I think I'm safe, unless my interestingness is an iron-on decal. The MFA will give me the credentials to teach, though I think there's plenty I can learn.