The Great Silence Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Program Credits Administration
Night Shade Message Boards » Duchamp, L. Timmel » The Great Silence « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

L. Timmel Duchamp
Posted on Wednesday, May 28, 2003 - 09:59 pm:   

I have been fending off the feeling since December, 2001, that it is time for me to revisit the human rights literature I first read in the mid-1980s when I needed help understanding some of the issues I was writing about then in my five-book political-sf Marq'ssan Cycle. This morning a friend sent me a link to an article posted at news.com.au, titled "US plans death camp," dated 26 May, 2003. <http://news.com.au/common/story_page/0,4057,6494000%255e401,00.html> "The US has floated plans to turn Guantanamo Bay into a death camp, with its own death row and execution chamber," the article begins. "Prisoners would be tried, convicted and executed without leaving its boundaries, without a jury and without right of appeal."