The news media's framing of events & ... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | User List | Help/Instructions | Program Credits Administration
Night Shade Message Boards » Duchamp, L. Timmel » The news media's framing of events & ideas « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

L. Timmel Duchamp
Posted on Friday, March 28, 2003 - 06:51 pm:   

Kathryn Wilham, who sent the following email to the Associated Press, has given me permission to post it here. She asks that I credit FAIR & Voice4Change with the facts she uses.

To: feedback@ap.org

As a long-time biomedical editor, I know a simple false dichotomy when I see one. The opposite of anti-war is pro-war; it is not pro-troops. And any good junior high English teacher, like my mother, would correct any student who made that mistake.

I am one of the hundreds of thousands of citizens expressing their opinions for or against the current war through marches and rallies across the country. Since many news outlets turn to the AP to help them cover these important manifestations of democracy, AP should stop using the terms "pro-war" and "pro-troops" interchangeably; this practice distorts the views of anti-war demonstrators like myself and fails to consider whether those on the other side of the street clearly identify themselves as pro-war in terms of this conflict.

I am confident that the overwhelming majority of participants at peace events, like myself, "support the troops," in the sense of being concerned for their well-being and hoping for their safe return.